Eat, Pray, Choose Who You Love

It’s finally here: There’s a way to fall in love with anyone. Yes, anyone.

Actually, psychologists have been trying to make people fall in love for a while now. However, a recent blog post on corals + cognacs linked to a particular story about this topic from the New York Times. Basically, the article refers to psychologist Arthur Aron’s success in making two strangers fall in love by answering personal questions and staring into each other’s eyes for four minutes.

The thought of staring into someone’s eyes for nearly five minutes unnerves me (I can barely stand the sight of myself when my camera is suddenly facing me when I open up Snapchat). But, the thought of people actually having some type of control over who they could potentially love interests me.

Romantic comedies, romance novels and even emotional ballads usually include the idea that “the heart wants what it wants,” thus leaving people with little to no choice in deciding who they fall in love with. Overall, the idea of having a definitive choice when it comes to falling in love is questionable but enlightening, nonetheless.

Since some of the questions in the study are pretty personal, I decided to answer a few questions to feed my own curiosity. I might as well learn more about myself before I eventually divulge this information to a future partner, right? Here are a few of my responses:

Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?
Mindy Kaling, hands down. I recently read her first book, and I’ve fallen even more in love with her.

Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?
Unless it’s a phone call to a friend, I usually do rehearse before making a phone call. If I don’t, I feel uneasy for some odd reason.

When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?
I sang Ella Henderson’s “Ghost” to myself earlier today. That song has recently become one of my favorites. I last sang to a crowd of people at a karaoke bar last Friday. It was my first time, and it was hilarious.

What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?
Graduating from college has been my greatest accomplishment in life so far.

Complete this sentence: “I wish I had someone with whom I could share … “
…a large bag of movie theater popcorn mixed with milk chocolate M&M’s. (Note: If a guy can’t join me in my popcorn and M&M’s addiction, I just don’t know if we’d be compatible.)

I obviously chose to avoid answering more of the personal questions on here, but a list of all thirty-six of the questions from the study can be found here.

Leave a Reply

